Could Iverson’s troubles be deeper than we thought?

BY SHAY RODDY

File Photo: Getty Images

Everyone knows Stephen A. Smith and what he’s about. I’m not in the business of ripping people for their columns, even though it wouldn’t have been hard to build a lawsuit against Smith for his piece in yesterday’s Inquirer. If you want, find it on your own time. I won’t link to it. But it basically said Allen Iverson would die in the near future if someone didn’t reach him to steer away from an apparent life of drinking and gambling.

It seemed like BS to me. Just a bad attempt to get his name out there again by Smith. But perhaps, I was wrong.

Allen Iverson stayed silent after the column ran in yesterday’s paper. Not a word. Until now.

On Iverson’s verified Twitter page he released the following statement: “To my fans: You all know that my life isn’t perfect. I am going through some very tough times right now, like I am sure that we all do from time to time. However, I will stand tall like always with ‘rhino’ thick skin. Even though I have become used to hearing people say things about me that aren’t true, it still hurts. I encourage you to continue your ongoing support and I want you to trust that this is another obstacle in my life that, with God’s help I will overcome. God Bless You All.”

Am I reading too far into this or is The Answer saying Smith’s piece is no lie?

Read that tweet how you wish, but it seems to me that Iverson has some things to sort out. Is he destined to a early death? I wouldn’t start writing his obituary, but it seems there is something going on.

It could be referring to Iverson’s pending divorce, his daughter’s illness, his mid-season retirement or some other issue in A.I.’s busy life. But it sure seems to me he’s saying our man Stephen A. might not be so far off.

It’s hard for me to sit here in Philadelphia and judge who Iverson is as a person. We all know he’s had his trials and tribulations. We all know he isn’t perfect. But I don’t feel comfortable sitting here saying Iverson will die in the very near future, as Smith did yesterday. However, Iverson’s reaction leads us to believe something is going on. What, we don’t know. But it might not be good for A.I.

Everyone has their theories, myself included, about what has been going on with The Answer this past month. I don’t think it’s fair to put them down or accuse him of anything.

But, if you’re an Iverson fan, hold your breathe, we could see quite the story unfold in the near future.

1 Comment

Filed under Editorial, Shay Roddy

One response to “Could Iverson’s troubles be deeper than we thought?

  1. Lord Jay

    I hope he don’t die.

Leave a Reply

