Saturday News

The Phillies went down to the Minnesotta Twins 2-1 in Clearwater today.  However, some good news did come out of the day:

Cole Hamels pitched a bullpen session this morning.  The session went well, according to reports.  Hamels threw a simulated two innings.  He took five minutes off between “innings.”  Hamels said afterward that he expects to throw a 50 pitch session in a minor league game Tuesday.

Hamels spoke about his session, “From the windup it felt good,” Hamels said. “The only soreness I have is from the injection, and that has been fading. Other than that, all the spots that were kind of causing me soreness didn’t cause me any discomfort at all, so I think that’s a good thing.”

So what does all this mean?  Will Hamels be ready for opening day? “Truly, I think that’s the last thing on my mind,” he said. “I just need to be game ready. I haven’t started throwing my curveball yet. I need to really focus on that, and I really need to be able to focus on locating my fastball in and out and throwing my changeup for strikes. That’s the only way I’ll be effective and good to this team is if I can go out there pitch healthy and get the job done.”

__________________

Marcus Hayes, of the Philadelphia Daily News, reports that Scott Eyre was hit in the face with a batted baseball.  Hayes reports that “Eyre was hit on the point of his wiry goatee by a batted ball from John Mayberry Jr. during batting practice before today’s game with the visiting Twins. Eyre slowly buckled to the ground, where he felt a lower middle tooth loosened in its space.”

“I was picking up a ball and turned to the side to throw it,” Eyre told Geoff Jenkins following the incident. “I even looked into the cage, and I saw ‘Mabes’ in his stance. He must have been getting ready to hit the next one. Then I heard, ‘Heads up!’ but it was too late, and it hit me.”

Eyre appeared ok and pitched in the game.

________________

Programming Notes:

We’re currently assembling a round-table Phillies discussion that will unite bloggers, writers, and broadcasters.  Check back for that right before opening day.

Jason Weitzel, proprietor of Beerleaguer.com, edited the best Phillies preview I’ve ever read.  His Phillies 2009 Annual is available here.

Friend of the blog, Brian Startare, wrote his first book.  Flyer’d Up is available at your local Barnes & Noble or for your personalized copy, go here.

The site will be having a call-in radio show.  The first show is set for April 3.  We’ll have much more on that later.

We are still on Facebook and are in need of many more fans.  Please become our fan here.

If you have a site that should be considered for sidebar link consideration post it in the comment thread… not an email.  I will redo links, if necessary, next week.

Finally, I will be taking a one week hiatus from the blog beginning Monday.  The timing is rather unfortunate, but the trip was planned prior to even the start of the blog.  I looked into options to have someone take my place but it was not a realistic option.  Please use the sidebar links to the greatest blogs on the planet.  I think they can carry you until my return.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Saturday News

  1. Great site this shayroddy.wordpress.com and I am really pleased to see you have what I am actually looking for here and this this post is exactly what I am interested in. I shall be pleased to become a regular visitor :)

  2. nice site this shayroddy.wordpress.com terrific to see you have what I am actually looking for here and this this post is exactly what I am interested in. I shall be pleased to become a regular visitor :)

  3. Art

    formidable site! great to see you have what I am actually looking for here and this this post is exactly what I am interested in. I shall be pleased to become a regular visitor :)

Leave a Reply

