Hamels to throw bullpen

Cole Hamels tossed with Jamie Moyer at a distance of 150 feet yesterday. The Phillies were very pleased with the way Hamels threw.  General manager Ruben Amaro Jr. said that head athletic trainer Scott Sheridan was encouraged that Hamels was able to throw at that distance without any ill-effects.

Hamels had this to say to concerned Phillies fans: “They have nothing to worry about. They don’t need to jump on the bandwagon of freaking out. I try to be honest with you guys and tell you the truth as much as possible. If I was in some serious pain I would let you guys know. I hope you can go by my word, but I know that’s a hard thing to do.”

His status for opening day seems doubtful, but I’m not too worried about his status for this season.  He is scheduled to throw his first bullpen session tomorrow.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

